Know Thyself
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Know Thyself

Nothing in Excess

HomePortalSearchRegisterLog in

Division of labour

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage

Division of labour Empty
PostSubject: Division of labour Division of labour EmptyThu Mar 14, 2013 6:46 am

I studied some Sociology years ago and what always stuck with me was this "Division of Labour".

I stumbled on it again in Henry David Thoreau's "Walden" (I will quote from wikipedia in the following) and I share Thoreau's critique. I think the standpoint on this is crucial. "What do you think of Labour Division?" The rest falls into place from there. So I will post some citations here. And comment on them below:

Quote :

Plato

In Plato's Republic, the origin of the state lies in the natural inequality of humanity, which is embodied in the division of labour.

Well then, how will our state supply these needs? It will need a farmer, a builder, and a weaver, and also, I think, a shoemaker and one or two others to provide for our bodily needs. So that the minimum state would consist of four or five men.... (The Republic, Page 103, Penguin Classics edition.)

Plato - The father of communism?

What follows are all supporters of the idea for one or the other reason until (the whole article is favorable of the Division of Labour):

Quote :

Adam Smith

[first there are quotes by him supporting the idea]
[...]